expectation and memory

“And how could we endure to live and let time pass if we were always crying for one day or one year to come back–if we did not know that every day of a life fills the whole life with expectation and memory and that these are that day? – (Oyarsa) C.S. Lewis, Out of the Silent Planet

Exhilarating, terrifying, thrilling, wonderful, life-altering, formidable, ominous, perfect.

All of these words describe one thing to me at this very moment: the move.

So…(drumroll-ish) We’re shifting states, changing directions, moving to Indianapolis, Indiana.

Yep, we’re crraaazy.

“Why Indiana? How’d ya pick that?” – you may be asking yourself.

Well, actually, the city picked us. God picked us for the the city, the city for us, whathaveyou.

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset
our first Indy visit #loveindy
In March, we went to visit friends in Indianapolis and for Brandon to play a show. We went to church with them that Sunday and met a doctor that knows our campus minister and the guy that married us, Chad. We spoke for literally a second before he offered me a job at his new orthopedic surgery practice. Pretty much dumbfounded and assuming that he was mostly joking, I said YEAH and we found ourselves shadowing at the office the following day, by the end of which we were fully convinced to drop everything and scurry to this magical place.

But wait, I just started a new job in JC and everything was good and…move?!

So we prayed a lot, and even made a silly pro-con list of sorts (which is now happily pinned to our fridge).

After lots of what-ifs and eventually how-could-we-nots and more answered prayers than we even knew to pray, I accepted the job. AND (get this) Brandon was offered an awesome internship at the church (A Redeemer Presbyterian church beautifully modeled after Tim Keller’s Redeemer in downtown NYC) to learn about worship leading and help collaborate on a new worship hymnal (so rad).

So here we are, months later and actually doing the thing and terrified to our wits of the griddy details.

On Thursday we drove a UHaul with my mama and brother to Indy to get the bulk of our furnishings and junk settled.

cue photos:

IMG_5396
me and my little brotherr

IMG_5402
find the Kurt Vonnegut
Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

IMG_5412
our favorite coffee joint thus far
Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

IMG_5416
look how cool Brandon is. seriously.
On the way up I was driving solo, so I opted for an audiobook.

I made an impeccable decision, if I do say so myself.

“Out of the Silent Planet” by C.S. Lewis (The first in the Planet Series)

out-of-the-silent-planet-by-c-s-lewis-cd

I’m a mega Lewis junkie. I love all of his books that I’ve read and truly, his theology and allegories tied so beautifully with the truth of the Gospel, I can’t even describe the joy it brings.

Anyway, this book way perfect. I learned about fear and how weak it truly is as we walk with our Savior. I learned the beauty of right now and that I absolutely don’t need to worry. This IS His plan. Praise God.

Here’s one more quote to convince you to go read it (or listen to it):

“You are speaking as if the pleasure were one thing and the memory another. It is all one thing…what you call remembering is the last part of the pleasure.”

Anyway, as frightening as it is to move to a new place where we essentially know no one, we have the best Guide. And sometimes the best plans are ones that were never planned at all, but more followed the Greater Plan flowing out before us.

Praise God.

PS

On Friday I managed to squeeze in a quick 3 miles before the day got going. I ran faster than I have in a while: negative splits with my last mile at 6:44. (21:28)

Screen Shot 2015-06-06 at 9.39.56 PM

Cool. So if you are the praying kind, prayers would be appreciated.

2 more shifts at my current job.

Alonzi!

Leave a Reply

