middle distance

Obsession: a state in which someone thinks about someone or something constantly or frequently especially in a way that is not normal.

Yes, so I’ve become obsessed with running lately. I don’t know if it’s because I’m super nervous about running my first marathon or because I’m excited or because I’m terrified of doing it the wrong way, probably a combination of all of those. Recently I’ve been following running blogs and instagram accounts like crazy, hoping that some of these awesome runners will somehow rub off on me.

But the truth is, I’m stuck in this middle distance rut.

It’s getting hot here in east Tennessee. And while most are rejoicing over the sunshine and 80 degree temps, I’m a little sunburned and a little sad. Being a redhead, chilly weather is my friend Which means that I need to start being a hardcore morning person, since  it’s already getting warm and sticky at 8 am. The past two weeks I haven’t run more than 9 miles at a time- and 9 was a struggle. I know my body is adjusting to the temperatures VERY slowly, but I’m itching to get the miles in, to be reassured that I’m going to be okay doing this marathon thing.

I just want to be okay.

its-okay-not-to-be-okay

In addition to the running bit, I’ve started this Alexa Jean Fitness Sore to the Core and Leg and Butt guide to tone up and get my muscles strong for training.

81ae598c55875caba5c3d02eb6f692e7

I’m not sure if it’s exactly what I need for marathon strength, but it seems to be a good way to hopefully drop some flab and make room for stronger/leaner muscle to begin training in June.

So far the only results I’ve seen is my hobbling around from soreness. (to the coreness)

But I like the workouts and I’m familiar with several from cross country that I know are great for bodyweight training.

One big thing I need to do is stretch more.

This week looked like this:

Screen Shot 2015-05-11 at 10.16.50 AM

Wednesday: 5.86 miles around downtown and tree streets- 8min/mile

Thursday: rest/stretch/begin abs and leg/butt workouts

Friday: distance 9.02 miles at 8:11 min/mile (abs/legs/butt workout)

Saturday: 1/2 mile repeats with long warm up and cool down 6.36 miles at 8 min/mile (ab/leg/butt workout)

Sunday: 4 miles at 8 min/mile

Monday: 5.65 miles on the Tweetsie trail at 7:43 min/mile. I was working on my pace on this run and am pretty happy with my splits:

Screen Shot 2015-05-11 at 10.22.04 AM

My goal over the next month is to tone up for marathon training and work on my stamina. I want to be comfortable running distances without feeling like I’m going too slow.

This weekend was fun.

We went to the Tour de Compadres with Needtobreathe, Drew Holcomb & The Neighbors & Ben Rector.

(We really went to see Drew Holcomb, but fell in love with Ben Rector)

IMG_5155 IMG_5154

This weekend my husband graduated from college with a Bachelor’s of Arts and Studio Art and a Minor in Bluegrass. I’m SO proud of him for getting his degree.

He also wore the kilt that he made and he looked pretty cute it I say so myself.

IMG_1796 IMG_1771 IMG_1781

This week is going to be hard, but God has set in place a plan for us and He can carry us. I need so much more prayer and time with my savior than I’ve been allowing for. Thankful that my salvation isn’t dependent on my goodness.

Prayers and peace this week, friends.

Happy (beautiful) Monday!

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

Leave a Reply

